Sanford Flea Market the Portobello Road of America


Sandford Flea market 008 (3)  Sandford Flea market 014

Let me clarify the title for those that do not know.  The reference of Portobello Road is from the Disney movie “Bed Knobs and Broomsticks”, which happens to be one of my favorites.  Portobello Road is a place where “anything and everything can be found”.  After seeing the Sanford Flea Market I thought that might also be the case here.

Sandford Flea market 009  Sandford Flea market 010  Sandford Flea market 026

Thank goodness on this day the traffic in the market was minimal and no one said anything about me taking photographs.  I think we walked every wing in the place.  There were stalls for music, perfume, tattoos and piercings, clothing, shoes, food.  It was like being in discount wonderland.  I will caution you that if you are not used to the Florida heat you will need to take your time and purchase or carry some water.  Some areas in the market have air conditioning but most only have fans.

Sandford Flea market 011 (2)  Sandford Flea market 012 (2)

I love a flea market.  I think that most people like to wonder the shops and find a deal.  What person does not like to get more for cheaper?  On this day I did not see anything that really interested me and went home empty-handed, well except for the photos.  One of the things I found interesting about the Sanford Flea was the differing cultures that were represented in both owners of the stalls and shoppers.  People are a bit weird about being photographed so I try not to make anyone identifiable.  Therefore, I did not specifically shoot to show the multiple cultures represented.

Sandford Flea market 015 (3)  Sandford Flea market 016 (2)

My favorite part of a really good market is the color.  A seriously great market is full of color and hustle.  One of the things I want to do when I begin traveling to other countries is to visit market areas.  There is so much energy in places like this.  If you ever watch some of the world travelers that are featured on public television shows or network travel shows you will find that they often visit the markets.  In some cases the market is the city center.  Something that you will not often find in America, but perhaps is a common practice in other countries is Hawkers.  Hawkers are people who try to draw business by talking loud or yelling out to the consumers what is available in their shops.  I think that here in the U. S. we also call them Barkers.

Sandford Flea market 017 (2)  Sandford Flea market 018 (2)

Sandford Flea market 046 (2)  Sandford Flea market 039 (2)

I am hoping to make another trip to the market.  I will probably do that later toward the holidays and get in some shopping.  Why buy one when you can get two for even less?  You just cannot beat the prices at a market.

Sandford Flea market 019 (2)  I did say you could find anything. Sandford Flea market 029 (2)

Sandford Flea market 021 (2)  WHAT!?

Sanford flea 1 of 2  OOOOOHHH!  Duh!

Sandford Flea market 038 (2)  Sandford Flea market 033 (2)Sandford Flea market 032 (2)

Now, if you ever get down to the Orlando area make your way over to Sanford and stop at the Sanford Flea out on Hwy 17-92.  I promise if you like a good flea market you will love it.

Happy Wanderings.

2 responses to “Sanford Flea Market the Portobello Road of America

  1. Howdy, I believe your web site could be having internet browser compatibility
    problems. Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer,
    it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up! Besides that, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

